Home Page About Us Contribute

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

GM Icons
By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

2010 NASCAR: Kevin Harvick wins Summer race in Daytona Beach, Florida

Stock Car Racing Topics:  Coke Zero 400, Kevin Harvick

2010 NASCAR: Kevin Harvick wins Summer race in Daytona Beach, Florida

July 6, 2010

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Kevin Harvick won his second race of the season early Sunday morning during the rain delayed 2010 Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway. It was his thirteenth career victory in the United States' leading professional stock car series. The victory helped Harvick to maintain his points lead of 212 points.

With twenty-two laps left, Kurt Busch and Jeff Burton began to collide with each other, causing a chain reaction accident that included nineteen cars, the largest since the 2005 Aaron's 499 crash. No serious injuries were reported. Harvick said, "This has been a great place for us, I wanted to be behind (Clint Bowyer) because it was working pretty good for us. I want some of that pavement from the start/finish line." Kasey Kahne finished in the second position, ahead of Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. in third and fourth, respectively. Jeff Burton finished fifth, after his collision with Kurt Busch. Carl Edwards, Kurt Busch, Reed Sorenson, Mike Bliss, and Scott Speed rounded out the top ten positions. The race had a total of nine cautions and forty-seven lead changes among eighteen different drivers.

In the point standings, Harvick remained in first position, as Johnson's vacated second position was filled by Jeff Gordon after finishing the race in the thirty-first position. Kurt Busch climbed two positions into third, while Denny Hamlin fell to fifth position. Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, and Burton followed in the top eight points positions. Stewart maintained the ninth position, as Greg Biffle remained in tenth. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Edwards rounded out the top twelve, and are currently in the Chase.

Unofficial Top-10 Race Results for the 2010 Coke Zero 400
Position Car Number Driver
1 29 Kevin Harvick
2 9 Kasey Kahne
3 24 Jeff Gordon
4 88 Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
5 31 Jeff Burton
6 99 Carl Edwards
7 2 Kurt Busch
8 83 Reed Sorenson
9 71 Mike Bliss
10 82 Scott Speed

This article is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute