Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

FHWA Selects 30 Colleges and Universities To Host 1999 Summer Transportation Institutes

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government

FHWA Selects 30 Colleges and Universities To Host 1999 Summer Transportation Institutes

Federal Highway Administration
March 24, 1999

Wednesday, March 24, 1999
Contact: Karen Whitney
Tel: (202) 366-0660
FHWA 22-99

U.S. Secretary of Transportation Rodney E. Slater today named 30 sites for the department’s Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) 1999 Summer Transportation Institutes at colleges and universities across the nation, including Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and other Minority Institutes of Higher Education (MIHE).

"Transportation careers represent one of the highest paying employment sectors in America, underscoring President Clinton’s highest national priority, education, as the key to opportunity and mobility," Slater said. "The Summer Transportation Institutes will help ensure that America’s transportation professionals in the 21st century are ready to meet the transportation challenges of the new millennium."

"These institutes provide invaluable experience for students," Federal Highway Administrator Kenneth R. Wykle said. "They will help students see the importance of transportation to economic growth and the potential for career opportunities in the transportation industry."

The first Summer Transportation Institute was conducted in 1993 with an enrollment of 20 students. To date, a total of 1,300 students have attended Summer Transportation Institutes.

In addition to FHWA support, the institutes receive assistance from local chapters of the National Urban League, state departments of transportation, private sector companies and other federal agencies.

The institutes are typically four-week on-campus sessions that introduce middle and high school students to transportation systems, innovations in transportation, management of transportation systems, construction skills, research and technology. The program also includes field trips to transportation facilities.

Participating colleges and universities host the institutes and provide housing and instructors for each session. FHWA and the South Carolina State University manage the program.

The Summer Transportation Institute program complements another U.S. Department of Transportation national educational initiative, the Garrett A. Morgan Technology and Transportation Futures Program which was established by U.S. Transportation Secretary Rodney E. Slater in 1997.

Supporting President Clinton’s strong interest for education, Secretary Slater established the program with four key objectives: improving students’ math, science and technological skills; strengthening the links between the transportation sector and community colleges, junior colleges, and technical schools; expanding transportation programs at undergraduate and graduate institutions; and reaching 1 million students with its message by the year 2000.

The Morgan Program is named in honor of Garrett A. Morgan (1876-1963), an African-American entrepreneur and son of a slave, who invented the three-phased automated traffic signal and the safety hood, later known as the gas mask.

A list of colleges and universities selected to participate in the 1999 Summer Transportation Institute Program follows:

  • Alabama A&M University, Normal, Ala.
  • Albany State College, Albany, Ga.
  • Arizona State University, Tempe, Ariz.
  • Benedict College, Columbia, S.C.
  • Bethune-Cookman College, Daytona Beach, Fla.
  • California State University, Los Angeles
  • Cheney University, Cheney, Pa.
  • City College of New York, New York
  • Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta
  • Delaware State University, Dover, Del.
  • Elizabeth City State University, Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, Fla.
  • Florida International University, Miami
  • Howard University, Washington, D.C.
  • Jackson State University, Jackson, Miss.
  • Kentucky State University, Frankfort, Ky.
  • Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College, Hayward, Wis.
  • Lincoln University, Chester, Pa.
  • Morgan State University, Baltimore, Md.
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Northwest Indian College, Bellingham, Wash.
  • South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, S.C.
  • Southern University, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, Ala.
  • University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff, Ark.
  • Virginia State University, Petersburg, Va.
  • West Virginia State University, Institute, W.Va.
  • University of Missouri, Rolla Campus, Rolla, Mo.
  • Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
  • Tennessee State University, Nashville, Tenn.


    Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

    The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr  

    The Crittenden Automotive Library

    Home Page    About Us    Contribute