Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

FHWA Awards South Carolina State University $1.5 Million To Administer National Summer Transportation Institute

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government

FHWA Awards South Carolina State University $1.5 Million To Administer National Summer Transportation Institute

Federal Highway Administration
February 5, 1999

Friday, February 5, 1999
Contact: Karen Whitney
Telephone: 202-366-0660
FHWA 8-99

ORANGEBURG, S.C.—Deputy Federal Highway Administrator Gloria Jeff today joined U.S. Rep. James Clyburn (S.C.) and South Carolina State University (SCSU) President Dr. Leroy Davis in announcing a $1.5 million award to SCSU to administer the Federal Highway Administration’s (FHWA) National Summer Transportation Institute (NSTI).

"Education is President Clinton’s highest transportation priority because it is the key to opportunity," U.S. Secretary of Transportation Rodney E. Slater said. "Summer transportation institutes will provide young Americans an opportunity to consider the challenges of careers in transportation in the new millennium."

"South Carolina State University helped launch the pilot Summer Transportation Institute in 1993," Jeff said. "The university is well-suited to help us formally establish the institute on a national level and we look forward to working with them and our partners in the South Carolina Department of Transportation to build upon the pilot’s success."

SCSU will establish a National Resource Center to provide guidance, training, and technical and logistical support for colleges and universities participating in the NSTI program. Today’s announcement formally establishes the NSTI, which concluded its five-year pilot in 1998. Up to 35 schools will be selected from applicants throughout the United States to host on-campus institutes this summer.

Participating colleges and universities will host the institutes and provide housing and instructors for each session. About 1,300 students participated in the pilot institutes that were held at a variety of Minority Institutions of Higher Education throughout the country. In addition to FHWA support, authorized by the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21) which was signed into law by President Clinton on June 9, 1998, the institutes also receive assistance from local chapters of the Urban League, state departments of transportation, private sector companies and other federal and state agencies.

The NSTI complements another national educational initiative, the Garrett A. Morgan Technology and Transportation Futures Program (Morgan Program), established by Secretary Slater on May 30, 1997. Prompted by President Clinton’s strong support for education, Secretary Slater established the program with four objectives: improving students’ math, science and technological skills; strengthening the links between the transportation sector and community colleges, junior colleges, and technical schools; expanding transportation programs at undergraduate and graduate institutions; and easing the transition from school to work in the transportation field.

The Morgan Program is named in honor of an African-American entrepreneur and son of slaves who invented the three-phased automated traffic signal and the safety hood, later known as the gas mask.


Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr  

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute