Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.


American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government Topics:  Carol H. Tan Esse


Federal Highway Administration
May 22, 1998

Friday, May 22, 1998
Contact: Jim Pinkelman
Telephone: 202-366-0660
FHWA 20-98

Carol H. Tan Esse, a highway research engineer at the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), has been named as one of the 1997 recipients of the prestigious Arthur S. Flemming award in the category of applied science from The George Washington University in Washington, D.C.

Tan Esse was cited for her work in managing the FHWA’s pedestrian and bicycle safety research program in support of the agency’s goal of reducing the number and severity of highway crashes. Her efforts include development of prototype software, called the Pedestrian and Bicycle Crash Analysis Tool (PBCAT), and development of a demonstration CD-ROM for computer visualization of pedestrian and bicycle roadway improvements.

"Carol’s award is a great honor, and we are proud to have her as a member of our team," FHWA Administrator Kenneth R. Wykle said. "In particular, her efforts to develop innovative programs will help to improve safety for millions of Americans. Safety is President Clinton’s highest transportation priority."

Tan Esse joined the FHWA in 1989 as an Eisenhower Graduate Research Fellow and has been a research engineer at the agency since 1991. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from Texas A&M University and is completing a doctorate in civil engineering at Pennsylvania State University.

The Flemming program, now in its 49th year, honors outstanding men and women in the federal government. The award is named after Dr. Arthur Sherwood Flemming, whose seven-decade career included service as president of three universities, secretary of the old Department of Health, Education and Welfare, and chairman of the U.S. Commission on Aging and the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Past recipients of the Flemming award include U.S. Sen. Daniel P. Moynihan, former Transportation Secretary Elizabeth Dole, and Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute for Allergies and Infectious Diseases.


Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr  

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute