

## NMDOT Approves \$20 Million For Emergency Road Repairs

**Santa Fe** - Upcoming winter weather prompted the New Mexico Transportation Commission to take emergency action to repair roads that might be significantly impacted by the coming winter.

On September 20, the commissioners unanimously approved distribution of \$20 million from agency fund balances to fix severely deteriorated roads and bridges as a proactive measure to ensure motorists are safe this winter and the state does not lose critical infrastructure. The money will be divided among the six highway districts.

"Each district has been strapped for funds in order to do proper maintenance on roads. And if in fact we run into adverse weather conditions this fall, we're going to have some pretty big problems. So we're going to address it now and not next spring when it's too late," said Ronald Schmeits who serves as the Transportation Finance Committee Chairman.

NMDOT Secretary Alvin Dominguez stated, "The expectation of the Governor and The State Transportation Commission is for the agency to manage its financial situation and focus on results for the taxpayers. These fund balances are a result of good financial practices and we want the money spent quickly to protect the states infrastructure investments."

Closing old projects and collecting funds, oversight of revenue collections and using internal controls to streamline contracts have enabled the Department of Transportation to reverse a six year trend of operating in the "red" through the State Treasury.

"Thanks to responsible budgeting, we now have money available to spend where it's needed," said Governor Martinez. "New Mexicans will be safer on our roads and bridges because we are keeping our fiscal house in order."

#

Melissa Dosher, NMDOT Public Information Officer, 827-5526 (office), 469-5698 (cell) melissa.dosher@state.nm.us

Susana Martinez Governor

Alvin C. Dominguez, P.E. Cabinet Secretary

Commissioners

**Pete K. Rahn** Chairman District 3

**Dr. Kenneth White** Secretary District 1

Ronald Schmeits Commissioner District 4

Butch Mathews Commissioner District 5

Jackson Gibson Commissioner District 6