

Susana Martinez
Governor

Alvin C. Dominguez, P.E. Transportation Secretary

January 25, 2012

Press Release

New Mexico Department of Transportation Commission to meet January 26 in Santa Fe

The six-member New Mexico Department of Transportation Commission - created by state statute as an advisory board on policy matters to the New Mexico Department of Transportation will meet January 26, 2012, 1:30 p.m., at the New Mexico Department of Transportation General Office located at 1120 Cerrillos Road.

The Governor-appointed Transportation Commission includes Chairman Pete Rahn (Placitas), Debra Hicks (Hobbs), Dr. Kenneth White (Las Cruces), Ron Schmeits (Raton), Butch Mathews (Farmington), and Jackson Gibson (Thoreau).

The purpose of the meeting is to update the commission on Transportation Department activities, and to gather Transportation information on how both the commission and the department might enhance the state's transportation system.

The 1:30 p.m. Transportation Commission meeting agenda includes presentation by Department of Transportation Aviation Director Steve Summers, Santa Fe County Board of Commissioners Chair Liz Stefanics, the Santa Fe MPO Transportation Policy Board, and other business brought before the commission.

In addition, there will an allotted time for public comment. The meeting is an opportunity for residents of local communities to discuss transportation needs and projects with NMDOT officials.

For questions or comments contact Manón Arnett, Public Information Officer for the New Mexico Department of Transportation, at (505) 827-5526.

###