Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

ABB and BYD’s Chuanfu Wang Awarded Zayed Future Energy Prize

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Cars in China Topics:  Chuanfu Wang

ABB and BYD’s Chuanfu Wang Awarded Zayed Future Energy Prize

January 21, 2014

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, Jan. 20, 2014 – Over the course of this month’s World Future Energy Summit BYD’s Chuanfu Wang was presented with the 2014 World Future Energy Prize. The Founder and President of BYD Company Ltd. was honored with the lifetime achievement award at a ceremony held in Abu Dhabi on January 20th. ABB Group was also given “the Large Corporation Award”. This is not Wang’s first time being recognized on this stage as last year, BYD was also honored with the “Large Corporation Finalists Award”. Mr. Wang received a monetary prize of US$500,000 at the awards ceremony presented by His Highness General Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

“It is a great honor for me to be recognized with this award. I want to stress that the award is not only for me, but also for the 180,000 BYD employees, as well as for the people who take action in making the world a more sustainable place. The award will continue to motivate us to develop more advanced and greener technologies and making contributions to the society.” Stated Wang.

The world's premier sustainable energy awardee is selected from a list of world renowned government officials, activists and industry men and women. This year’s jury was chaired by President Olafur Ragnar Grimsson of Iceland, and included current and Former Presidents, Prime Ministers, and Energy Ministers from South Korea(Han Seung-soo), the Maldives(Mohamed Nasheed), South Africa(Dipuo Peters), the International Renewable Energy Agency(Adnan Z Amin), Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company(Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh), and Virgin Group(Richard Branson)as well as honorary chairman of Tata group, Ratan N Tata.

About Zayed Future Energy Prize The Zayed Future Energy Prize was created in honour of the legacy of the late Founding Father and President of the United Arab Emirates, His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan. The prize aims to inspire the next generation of global energy innovators to create solutions for the future. The Prize is awarded annually to individuals, companies or organisations that have made significant contributions in the global response to the future of energy, climate change and sustainable global energy resources.For more information,please visit https://www.zayedfutureenergyprize.com

About BYD

"BYD is a publicly-traded company with no Chinese government ownership. In fact, U.S. investors own over 60% of the public stock, with Warren Buffet’s Berkshire Hathaway owning 9.9% of that amount. Mr. Buffett and his colleagues recognize BYD's breakthrough battery and EV technologies: an electrified, 24-hour, and long-range battery that provides emission-free, silent, and economic public and private transportation.

As the world's largest manufacturer of rechargeable batteries, BYD's mission is to create safer and more environmentally-friendly battery technologies, and this has produced the BYD Iron Phosphate Battery. This fire-safe, completely recyclable, and incredibly long-cycle technology has become the foundation of BYD's clean energy platforms. For more information, please visit www.byd.com and www.facebook.com/bydcompany.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute