Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Vision

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government

Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Vision

Larry W. Minor
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
December 17, 2013

[Federal Register Volume 78, Number 242 (Tuesday, December 17, 2013)]
[Pages 76394-76395]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Printing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2013-29952]



Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration


Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Vision

AGENCY: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT.

ACTION: Notice of denials.


SUMMARY: FMCSA announces its denial of 59 applications from individuals 
who requested an exemption from the Federal vision standard applicable 
to interstate truck and bus drivers and the reasons for the denials. 
FMCSA has statutory authority to exempt individuals from the vision 
requirement if the exemptions granted will not compromise safety. The 
Agency has concluded that granting these exemptions does not provide a 
level of safety that will be equivalent to, or greater than, the level 
of safety maintained without the exemptions for these commercial motor 
vehicle (CMV) drivers.

Programs Division, 202-366-4001, U.S. Department of Transportation, 
FMCSA, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Room W64-224, Washington, DC 20590-
0001. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, 
except Federal holidays.



    Under 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA may grant an exemption 
from the Federal vision standard for a renewable 2-year period if it 
finds ``such an exemption would likely achieve a level of safety that 
is equivalent to or greater than the level that would be achieved 
absent such an exemption.'' The procedures for requesting an exemption 
are set forth in 49 CFR part 381.
    Accordingly, FMCSA evaluated 59 individual exemption requests on 
their merit and made a determination that these applicants do not 
satisfy the criteria eligibility or meet the terms and conditions of 
the Federal exemption program. Each applicant has, prior to this 
notice, received a letter of final disposition on the exemption 
request. Those decision letters fully outlined the basis for the denial 
and constitute final Agency action. The list published in this notice 
summarizes the Agency's recent denials as required under 49 U.S.C. 
31315(b)(4) by periodically publishing names and reasons for denial.
    The following 11 applicants had no experience operating a CMV:

Christina L. Anhock
Thomas R. Anthony
Brian Ashbaugh
Eric Betsuie
Eric P. Carr
Adrian L. Johnson
Bradford Kadubic
Dennis A. Mercer II
Elijah Miller
Jorge Monge
Marcus Robinson

    The following 9 applicants did not have 3 years of experience 
driving a CMV on public highways with their vision deficiencies:

Zoraida Bazan
Troy D. Blanton
Donald E. Cessna, Sr.
Douglas H. Huntsman
Mark A. Lane
James McClellan
Louis Pierson
Juan Ramirez
Phillip Starker

    The following 5 applicants did not have 3 years of recent 
experience driving a CMV with the vision deficiency:
Aaron Gage
Daniel D. Henriquez
Dennis Hughey
Edward Rangel
Jeffrey M. Thorpe

    The following 9 applicants were denied for miscellaneous/multiple 

Travis Bennett
John D. Bowman
Don Gray
Bruce Gumtow
Gary S. Judds
Timothy M. Leonard
Thomas A. Martin, III
Rodney McMorran
Tyler R. Peebles

    The following applicant, Mark P. Huemann, was denied because his 
vision was not stable for the entire 3-year period.
    The following 12 applicants met the current federal vision 
standards. Exemptions are not required for applicants who meet the 
current regulations for vision:

Joseph A. Basista
Thomas J. Bruce, Jr.
Barry Foster
Donald M. Gieseke
Marco J. Gonzalez
Rogelio Leyva
Martin R. Manner
Lee A. Mauk
John McKinney

[[Page 76395]]

John Rinehart
Scott J. Thompson, Jr.
Christopher M. Walters

    The following 10 applicants were denied because they will not be 
driving interstate, interstate commerce, or not required to carry a DOT 
medical card:

John H. Bass
Alton L. Carlisle
Timothy F. Dunn
Wesley S. Gnade
Jerry E. Guilford
Glenn F. Hipp
Shane Nelson
Nelson P. Sanschagrin
Robert Schultz
Robert Tackitt

    Finally, the following 2 applicants perform transportation for the 
federal government, state, or any political sub-division of the state.

Marty G. Eastman
Eric D. Kidd

    Issued on: December 3, 2013.
Larry W. Minor,
Associate Administrator for Policy.
[FR Doc. 2013-29952 Filed 12-16-13; 8:45 am]

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute