Home Page About Us Contribute




Escort, Inc.



Tweets by @CrittendenAuto






By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

Man dies in North Uist, Outer Hebrides after being hit by car

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Man dies in North Uist, Outer Hebrides after being hit by car

Wikinews
June 10, 2013


A man has died as the result of a road traffic collision on the Outer Hebrides island of North Uist. The accident, to which members of the police and ambulance services were called at around 01:46 BST (0046 UTC) yesterday, happened on the A865 road between the villages of Carinish and Clachan when a black Renault Clio car hit a pedestrian.

A statement from Police Scotland said the fatality, a male aged 33, died at the crash site despite being given medical attention. He has been named as Ivan MacDonald, a resident of Baleshare, near North Uist. Approximately 200 metres from the incident location is Carinish Hall, where a social event, which the deceased may have attended, was held prior to the crash. A section of the road spanning 400 metres was closed following the accident.

The Island News and Advertiser newspaper reported police saying the road would stay closed until approximately 14:00–15:00 BST (1300–1400 UTC) yesterday at the earliest. The road reopened around 15:20 BST (1420 UTC). A Divisional Road Policing Unit team of investigators from the town of Dingwall in the Scottish Highlands examined the scene during the closure. As no diversions were available for motorists, this closure affected any traffic which had travelled via ferry to Lochmaddy in North Uist from Uig on the Isle of Skye yesterday. Lines of vehicles in both directions were reportedly left at the scene.

Wikinews has contacted Police Scotland, the Scottish Ambulance Service, and the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service to enquire about the incident but has yet to receive any response.

This article is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr
 


The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute