Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

NHTSA Presents 15 Awards for Safety Accomplishments

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

American Government

NHTSA Presents 15 Awards for Safety Accomplishments

March 30, 2009

NHTSA 03-09
Monday, March 30, 2009
Contact: Rae Tyson
Telephone: (202) 366-9550

Nashville -- The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) today presented awards at the 27th annual Lifesavers conference honoring 15 individuals and groups for their exemplary achievements in promoting highway safety.

"President Obama has asked Americans to get involved to make a difference in our communities, and these individuals and organizations have done so by working to save lives on our highways," said NHTSA’s Acting Deputy Administrator Ronald L. Medford.

Medford lauded the honorees for their dedication and efforts but reminded them that much more can and should be done to help reduce injuries and fatalities on our nation’s highways.

“All of you have proven that every element of every community in America has an important voice and part in making our roadways safer,” said Brian M. McLaughlin, Senior Associate Administrator of Traffic Injury Control at NHTSA.

During the three-day conference, hundreds of people are expected to attend workshops ranging from child passenger safety and occupant protection, to impaired driving and new vehicle safety technology. Participants will also view exhibits of traffic safety products and programs. Those attending include representatives from the public and private sectors as well as community traffic safety workers.

McLaughlin presented public service awards to 15 individuals and organizations. Their names, organizations and plaque citations are as follows:

• Teresa Kathryn Belew, Executive Director, Arkansas State Mothers Against Drunk Driving, Little Rock, AR. “In recognition of your dedication and resourcefulness in the promotion of impaired driving prevention and occupant protection programs in order to save the lives of Arkansans.”

• The Honorable Linda Chezem, Retired Indiana Court of Appeals Judge, Mooresville, IN. “In recognition of your outstanding accomplishments in improving safety on the Nation’s highways through judicial training programs, research, state evaluations, and intervention and outreach programs.”

• Chief Virgil L. Green, Sr., Boley Police Department/Executive Director, Oklahoma State MADD Chapter, Oklahoma City, OK. “In recognition of your outstanding dedication and steadfast determination to prevent impaired driving through many years of educating government leaders and the motoring public in Oklahoma.”

• David and Martha Jones, Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Advocates, Kennewick and Spokane, WA. “In recognition of your decade of public service, improving bicycle and pedestrian safety in Washington State, in memory of your son, Cooper Jones.”

• Ting-Kai Li, M.D., Director (retired), National Institute for Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, Durham, NC. “In recognition of your leadership in supporting an alcohol research agenda that has provided the foundation for screening and brief intervention, underage drinking, and other initiatives to reduce impaired driving.”

• Joseph A. McCormack, Chief, Vehicular Crime Prosecution, Office of the Bronx County District Attorney, Bronx, NY. “In recognition of your diligence in investigating and prosecuting vehicular crimes and for training others to do the same, and for fighting on behalf of the victims of DWI crashes.”

• Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Milwaukee, WI. “In recognition of your journalistic excellence focusing on impaired driving in Wisconsin and creating support for changing the culture of the State.”

• Gregory W. Parkinson, M.D., End Driving Deaths Among Youth (EDDY) Falmouth, MA. “In recognition of your determination and persistence to preventing injuries to children resulting from motor vehicle crashes.”

• The Honorable Wendy K. Reynolds, Superior Court Judge Pro Tempore, Walnut Creek, CA. “In recognition of your efforts and dedication to educating students and the public regarding drinking and driving and your support of the California Every 15 Minutes program.”

• Safe Kids Buckle Up, Safe Kids Worldwide, Washington, DC. “In recognition of outstanding contributions to the safety of America’s children on and off the road and for leadership in improving occupant protection legislation.”

• Colonel Mark V. Trostel, (retired) Colorado State Patrol, Denver, CO. “In recognition of your exemplary leadership in the Colorado traffic safety family and for demonstrated contributions to reducing human loss on the State’s public roadways.”

• Colonel Mike Walker, Tennessee Highway Patrol, Nashville, TN. “In recognition of your command leadership in the critical area of statewide traffic records improvement and the implementation of an electronic crash reporting system for Tennessee.”

• Indiana State Representative Peggy Welch, Bloomington, IN. “In recognition of your leadership, teamwork, and tireless efforts in passing legislation that will save lives and reduce injuries from traffic crashes in Indiana.”

• Sergeant Shawn Williams, Charleston Police Department, Charleston, WV. “In recognition of your exceptional and innovative efforts in traffic safety to help save lives in West Virginia.”

• Indiana State Senator Thomas J. Wyss, Fort Wayne, IN. “In recognition of your leadership, teamwork, and tireless efforts in passing legislation that will save lives and reduce injuries from traffic crashes in Indiana.”

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute