Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

ISCARS Dash Returns to Shenandoah Speedway

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Stock Car Racing Topics:  Prime Time 150, Shenandoah Speedway

ISCARS Dash Returns to Shenandoah Speedway

Tony Stevens/ISCARS PR
July 18, 2006

DAYTONA BEACH, FL (July 18, 2006) – Almost one year ago to the day ISCARS drivers and teams joined with Shenandoah Speedway for their respective inaugural events. Brandon Ward won the first ISCARS race at the facility and this weekend another driver will add his name to the ISCARS record books at Shenandoah Speedway.

Originally scheduled for July 1, the ISCARS event was moved to July 21 and 22 due to noise concerns at the .375 mile facility. Teams have since outfitted their cars with approved muffler systems in order to meet the standards set by county officials.

“We’re very excited to be returning to Shenandoah for the second year in a row. It is an outstanding facility. Jeff Vaughn has done a fabulous job with the track,” said Randy Claypoole, ISCARS President.

The state-of-the-art short track is situated just outside of the town of Shenandoah and a short distance from the scenic Skyline Drive and Luray Caverns. It lies approximately 30 miles east of Interstate 81.

A prime candidate for the trophy is points leader Eric Wilson of Hickory, N.C. Wilson has gone two for two in 2006, winning at Hickory Motor Speedway and Music City Motorplex in Nashville. Ready to challenge him is a strong contingent of experienced drivers such as Mike Watts who finished second in last year’s event.

Fans can get an up close and personal look at an ISCARS Dash machine on Friday at the Prime Time locations in Harrisonburg and Luray. At least one driver and car from the series will be at each location for fans to autographs and answer their questions.

Tickets are still available for the Prime Time 150 at Shenandoah Speedway by contacting the track via http://www.shenandoahspeedway.com or by phone at (540) 652-1108. For more information about ISCARS, log onto http://www.iscarsonline.com.

Other Notes of Interest:

* Top Ten In Points: 1. Eric Wilson 365 2. Jake Hobgood 330 3. Scott Weaver 325 4/5. Johnny Chapman, Ned Combs 296 6. Danny Bagwell 295 7. Scott Krehling 288 8. Mike Watts 284 9. Joe Jones 269 10. Buster Bennett 170.
* Joey Jones of nearby Fredericksburg (VA) leads the Rookie of the Year Points. Other notable Dash Series Rookie of the Year winners include former NASCAR Busch Series standout Ed Berrier, former NASCAR Nextel Cup driver and current NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series commentator on Speed Channel Phil Parsons, and former NASCAR Nextel Cup driver Shawna Robinson who also has three wins in the series. Daytona 500 champion Michael Waltrip is also a Dash Series graduate and former champion of the series.
* ISCARS is the only division of its kind in United States motorsports. Originally sanctioned by NASCAR as the Baby Grand Series in 1974, the series has gone by multiple names and raced at multiple facilities including Daytona International Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, Darlington Raceway, and Lowe’s Motor Speedway. Even after a change in sanction, the series has kept its unique “swarm” sounding V6 powerplants, distinct body designs, and short 100-inch wheelbase to stay true to its name as a “sport compact” racing series.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute