Home Page About Us Contribute

Escort, Inc.

Tweets by @CrittendenAuto

By accessing/using The Crittenden Automotive Library/CarsAndRacingStuff.com, you signify your agreement with the Terms of Use on our Legal Information page. Our Privacy Policy is also available there.

Michael Schumacher breaks Formula One record for most poles

American Government Special Collections Reference Desk

Open Wheel Racing Topics:  Michael Schumacher, Formula 1

Michael Schumacher breaks Formula One record for most poles

23 April 2006

Bologna, Italia - Michael Schumacher has set the Formula One pole record.  "Schumi" won the pole position at the San Marino Grand Prix.  The pole position was the 66th for Schumacher.  Ayrton Senna held the previous record.  Senna won his F1-career 65 pole positions between years 1984-1994.  Schumacher has been racing in the F1-series since 1991.  Senna won 40% of his pole attempts (161 races) compared to Schumacher's 28% (235 races so far).  This new pole record reawakened the affection for Senna who died in 1994 on the fifth lap at the same race, the San Marino Grand Prix, a race won by Schumacher who was also champion the same year.

Results of Time Trial

Starting Order

1Michael SchumacherFerrari
2Jenson ButtonHonda
3Rubens BarrichelloHonda
4Felipe MassaFerrari
5Fernando AlonsoRenault
6Ralf SchumacherToyota
7Juan Pablo MontoyaMcLaren
8Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren
9Jarno TrulliToyota
10Mark WebberWilliams
11Giancarlo FisichellaRenault
12Jacques VilleneuveBMW-Sauber
13Nico RosbergWilliams
14David CoulthardRed Bull
15Nick HeidfeldBMW-Sauber
16Vitantonio LiuzziSquderia Toro Rosso
17Christian KlienRed Bull
18Scott SpeedSquderia Toro Rosso
19Tiago MonteiroMF1
20Christijan AlbersMF1
21Takuma SatoSuper Aguri
22Yuji IdeSuper Aguri

Results of 3rd part of the time trial

1Michael Schumacher1.22,795
2Jenson Button1.22,988
3Rubens Barrichello1.23,242
4Felipe Massa1.23,702
5Fernando Alonso1.23,709
6Ralf Schumacher1.23,772
7Juan Pablo Montoya1.24,021
8Kimi Räikkönen1.24,158
9Jarno Trulli1.24,172
10Mark Webber1.24,795

Results of 2nd part of the time trial

1Michael Schumacher1.22,579
2Kimi Räikkönen1.23,190
3Ralf Schumacher1.23,565
4Felipe Massa1.23,595
5Mark Webber1.23,718
6Jarno Trulli1.23,727
7Fernando Alonso1.23,748
8Jenson Button1.23,749
9Rubens Barrichello1.23,760
10Juan Pablo Montoya1.23,760
11Giancarlo Fisichella1.23,771
12Jacques Villeneuve1.23,887
13Nico Rosberg1.23,966
14David Coulthard1.24,101
15Nick Heidfeld1.24,129
16Vitantonio Liuzzi1.24,520

Results of first part of the time trial

1Fernando Alonso1.23,536
2Kimi Räikkönen1.24,259
3Ralf Schumacher1.24,370
4Giancarlo Fisichella1.24,434
5Jarno Trulli1.24,446
6Jenson Button1.24,480
7Nico Rosberg1.24,495
8Michael Schuamcher1.24,598
9Rubens Barrichello1.24,727
10David Coulthard1.24,849
11Vitantonio Liuzzi1.24,879
12Felipe Massa1.24,884
13Juan Pablo Montoya1.24,960
14Mark Webber1.24,992
15Jacques Villeneuve1.25,081
16Nick Heidfeld1.25,410
17Christian Klien1.25,410
18Scott Speed1.25,437
19Tiago Monteiro1.26,820
20Christijan Albers1.27,088
21Takuma Sato1.27,609
22Yuji Ide1.29,282

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License.

Connect with The Crittenden Automotive Library

The Crittenden Automotive Library at Google+ The Crittenden Automotive Library on Facebook The Crittenden Automotive Library on Instagram The Crittenden Automotive Library at The Internet Archive The Crittenden Automotive Library on Pinterest The Crittenden Automotive Library on Twitter The Crittenden Automotive Library on Tumblr

The Crittenden Automotive Library

Home Page    About Us    Contribute